Whatever happened to Jewel?

Jewel (Kilcher) has pretty much dropped off the radar in the last couple of years. Is it because of a progressively diminishing audience for her style of music? I don’t think so. I think it’s more a case of some serious career missteps and one significant life change. In 2003, she released the CD 0304 which was quite a departure from those that had preceded it. The CD was led by a single release called “Intuition” (remember it?) which “moved to a more pop-oriented sound… The song, which strays from her usual folk style with simple guitar instrumentation, starts off with a French accordion and experiments with dance-pop beats using synthesizers.” Was she (gasp) trying to cash in on the girl-pop singer trend at the time? In 2006, she released the CD Goodbye Alice In Wonderland, which was somewhat of a return to her acoustic style, but, in my opinion, she had already lost some of her fans who ditched her when she went “pop.”And, the disk may have been marred a little bit by her own indecision as to which direction she should be going.

In 2008, she married rodeo cowboy Ty Murray after a 10-year romance, and THAT life change seemingly impacted her career path as well because in 2006 she released Perfectly Clear, a country music album! Touted as a return to her country roots (which, indeed, her dad performed all of his life), it presumably appeased her acoustic fans while taking her on a different path for commercial success. Ooookay. But then in 2009 she released Lullabies which was again an extreme right (or left) turn in the career path as she described the release as a collection of lullabies “not just for children, but also adults.” If I’m a long-time fan of Jewel, what does that mean to me? Not sure. And to further confuse the issue, 2010 saw the release of Sweet And Wild, a second country music album. It wouldn’t surprise me if you have not heard of these last three CD releases (unless, of course, you follow the country charts).

The confusion about what to expect from her musically was compounded when she agreed to be a “celebrity competitor” on Dancing With The Stars. The fact that she bowed out with two fractured tibias before any audience saw her dance only further hurt her crediblity. (Plus, if I LOVED “You Were Meant For Me” from way back on her 1995 debut, why do I want to see her celebrity dancing on TV?!)

I’m editorializing here when I suppose that I know the answers to the gradual decline in the audience she first built. But, all of the moves (with the exception of marrying a rodeo cowboy which, I presume, was a matter of pure love) she’s made in the “noughties” seem to be designed to find greater commercial success. Ironically, I believe it’s pushed her further away from it.

If you want to know why this bothers me so, then listen to her sing “Ave Maria” (or any other track except “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”) from her 1999 Joy: A Holiday Collection. That voice of an angel is meant to be heard clear and crystalline, unburied by commercial production, “synth-pop” beats or too many twangs. I miss the early Jewel. And, if I could send one message to her right now, it might be “Who will save your musical soul?” But, that might just be me. If you think differently, please let me know.

Thanks for reading.

About Mike Christiansen

Art Director specializing in retail and business-to-business advertising from print to web
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Whatever happened to Jewel?

  1. Edward says:

    I think unlike many of the pop stars of today, Jewel wasn’t just playing music to appease the fans, in fact if I remember correctly the record companies came to her she didn’t go to them. She was a coffee shop street performer with masterful talent that was discovered. My thought was that she probably wanted to try different styles for the challenge of it, why just stick with one genre when you can experiment different ones and incorporate it into your own style. I think her attempt at pop was trying something new, obviously she wasn’t selling out because she would have stayed her course with the folk music. She had done all sorts of crazy instrumentals using claw and hammer reminiscent of blue grass and even a full song using nothing but harmonics. I think she plays what she likes and if you want in on the joy your welcome to listen but Jewel plays what Jewel wants. I respect her for that. I also respect her for being the musician of my first kiss…those were the days.

  2. Her country albums are TERRIBLE. I mean, I bought “Perfectly Clear” because I thought it would be a nice return to form. Nothing but a watered down pop album, with the needless banjo thrown in. The song-writing was also terrible and her voice sounded really nasally. I thought “Goodbye Alice and Wonderland” was actually a pretty good folk-pop album. Sure it wasn’t “Pieces of You” or “Spirit” but it was the last well crafted album she’s made. I just don’t understand how someone SO talented can make such crap. I mean, you don’t just lose talent do you? My only hope is that her sales become so bad that she has no choice but to make something good in order to get us back.

    • I have to admit that I am surprised by the amount of hits and comments about this post about Jewel. I am also gratified. It’s nice to know that I’m not alone in longing for a return to form for her.

  3. Max says:

    U said everything ive been wondering & thinking myself…Jewel has a rare gift, the voice of an angel, and was heading down a charmed path soothing souls & inspiring minds along the way …so why change a winning direction.?!..& why strangle that talent with all manner of distraction & complication. She seems to have forgotten who & what she is. Jewel has become an industrial diamond…

  4. kim says:

    You hit the nail on the head!

Leave a comment